Tags

,

It’s a little after midnight and there is an unbelievable storm bearing down on us.

The cat and I are hiding out in the living room, which has windows that face east, shielded from the full brunt of the storm, while the bedroom and library get pummeled by what sounds like baseball-sized hail. It struck with such ferocity, I ripped the electrical cords out of the wall so the dvr and tv would not spark when water came pouring in.

After 5 minutes of huge pounding hail that I was convinced would destroy my windows, I called BP (since it’s midnight and he’s a grown man who might now about such things) to say, um, is there anything special I am supposed to do in a hailstorm? I know about Florida weather — hurricanes, electrical storms, treatments for heat exhaustion — but Texas is still a freaking mystery to me. I wondered about hiding out in the bathtub like for a tornado as the hail was so loud he could hear it through my cordless 20 feet from the windows, as I stood in the hallway.

The power is out. We lost it about 20 minutes ago. I brushed my teeth by the dim light coming from my MBP. (After Case singed her tail last year, I reduced my candle usage.)

The storm has slowed down to a normal storm — rain, getting progressively heavier, lightning in the distance. Aside from the rain and some tiny pieces of hail striking my windows, all I can hear are sirens in the distance.

I live on the park, basically, so behind me are acres of trails and forest and nature and eventually buildings and a highway. I wonder if the whole neighborhood is out or maybe most of the city. It’s hard to say. Because we’re so in nature, we used to lose power all the time, even in just plain storms. A bit of wind and the wires would come down.

Generally, our electricity comes back relatively fast. I hold little hope for how quickly it might come back up today/tomorrow.

I did a bit of dark exploration through the condo, which is far more treacherous than normal because I still have boxes out in the library. It looks like the buildings on the far side of the park have power, so maybe it’s just us. That would be great because it means they can get us back up faster.

I hate losing power: I keep the fridge prepared for power outages by storing large nalgene type bottles filled with ice in the freezer. It seems to help keep things frozen even if the power is out for hours.

The rain still falls, though it’s much lighter.

Another thing I noticed on my exploration: the big fence behind us is missing about an 8 foot section and a 15 foot section. Thank goodness it took sections rather than pieces since those could have been hurled against our windows. Instead, they’re just laying, ineffectually, on the pavement.

It’s such a strange experience. My brain is fully engaged, but there is little I can do. My phone is connected to the internet, so I am cut off that way. I have about 30 minutes left on the battery on the MBP. I am tempted to shut it down now, but even if the power is still off tomorrow, I will be cut off from the internet.

Today was an interesting day. It began with a bad storm and ended with a bad storm. In between, I received the approval letter, made my mother cry (in a good way), fired a consulting client (and gave up good money, of course, but it had to be done), watched the surprise Edwards endorsement, changed my sheets while on a conference call, cooked a fabulous mahi mahi stirfry (no soy sauce, but with vinegar), drank jasmine tea all night, plotted my future, resolved a supposed conflict with one of BP’s friends, and feared for my safety and property from a big brutal storm. Not bad for 18 hours.

==> As the power came back up 8 hours later, the local news said 19,000 people were without power. 19,000 people in West and Southwest Austin of course. The burbs are always fine, without our big beautiful trees to knock down power lines. There is a tree down and in the pool. It was a tall tree but with a skinny trunk.

