Tags

I am crying.  I just finished watching Obama’s Iowa speech and I am crying.

His words about people standing up, leaving home to fight in Selma and Montgomery, had tears rolling down my cheeks:

Change is coming to America.

It’s the spirit that sent the first patriots to Lexington and Concord and led the defenders of freedom to light the way north on an Underground Railroad. It’s what sent my grandfather’s generation to beachheads in Normandy, and women to Seneca Falls, and workers to picket lines and factory fences. It’s what led all those young men and women who saw beatings and billy clubs on their television screens to leave their homes, and get on buses, and march through the streets of Selma and Montgomery – black and white, rich and poor.

Change is coming to America.

Perhaps someday, I will articulate here exactly why his words and, frankly, what he represents are so meaningful to me.

Here is an inexact articulation:

First, he’s nearly of my generation. Even my grandfather parachuted into Normandy on D-Day and fought his way across France. We were affected by the issues that confronted our nation in ways we do not share with our boomer(ish) parents — from the fears of nuclear annihilation to the fall of the Berlin Wall, from failed missions to the success in Gulf War 1. We had great fear and then great hope. For much of my 20s, absolutely everything seemed possible. We were taught that hard work and smart work could change the world and we saw it happen in politics, in technology, in broad economic expansion. What he chooses to say resonates strongly with me on a generational basis.

Second, I believe that we are on the cusp of a post-racial society in a way my aunts and uncles could not have imagined.

What I hear in his words relates to issues I confront in my life. I see the hope implicit in the promise he represents. I believe he represents a new path to help get our country back on track.

Hearing him speak about where we have been and where we are going, I could not help but cry.

Change is coming to America.

