Tags

,

I threw together a quiche this morning so good I wanted to immediately eat the entire thing: my new improved Spinach Feta Crustless Quiche.

The key: I used 4 oz of frozen organic spinach and 4 oz of Mt. Vilkos barrel-aged feta.  That seems to be a perfect proportion.

I sautéed 1.5 ounces of onion* with 2 onces of sliced mushroom in a tbs of butter with some fleur de sel, crushed red pepper, and italian seasoning.  I layered that on the bottom of a well-buttered 9 inch pie pan.  I crumbled the 4 ounce of cheese and spread it evenly over the onion/mushroom “crust.”  I sprinkled a little nutmeg.  Then I layered the spinach I had micro’d for 2 minutes.   I whisked together 3 eggs and a cup of heavy cream and poured it over the top.  Then I baked the whole thing in a 350 degree oven for 45 minutes.
It is perfection.

*I used only the onion I had remaining in the fridge because the new Walla Walla in the pantry was bad when I sliced it open.  Grrr.

