Tonight, I spoke with BFD tonight for about 20 minutes.  Although we have made significant progress this week, he is still a bit odd.  We had very tentative plans to go out tonight, because his houseguests had finally left, or tomorrow.  I did not hear from him, so I called and later texted around 8:30 tonight to confirm plans for tomorrow.

He called me back about 15 minutes later, after he wrapped a conference call.  We spoke about his injury, his upcoming travel plans, and the sport to which he cannot wait to return.  He was stressed out, trying to plan out the next few weeks.  (A side note: we will be on opposite sides of the country for Thanksgiving and in different regions for Christmas.)  He said at one point that “it won’t always be like this.”  He likes to assure me (and himself) that his schedule is the consequence of current business activity level and he will be scaling it back dramatically within the next year or so.  Like BP, BFD does not really need to work . . . he just enjoys it.  Or at least he used to.  His current project just seems to irritate him.

He launched into an esoteric discussion about his sports equipment.  Now, to be fair, I asked questions and I responded encouragingly.  He loves talking about this stuff and I don’t know anything about it.  I’ve never done it, though I do watch it on tv.  I am encouraging because it is important to him, so I want to have at least a working knowledge of his sport.

Then he said, okay, I have a doctor’s appointment, etc. tomorrow, so we will talk in the afternoon to see about tomorrow night.  Um, excuse me?  I asked him to clarify, so we won’t know about tomorrow until tomorrow afternoon?  Right.  Unbelievable.  I think I will happily bounce to the deal tomorrow, rather than wait around for him.  Thought I may reconsider . . . I haven’t seen him since Saturday night.

After the call, he emailed me a powerpoint pdf (seriously) explaining the science behind what he told me.  That’s 10 minutes I will never get back.

The positives are that BFD is becoming more responsive.  I hear from him when I should or he returns my calls very quickly.  We are speaking daily.  He is sharing information about his life, his stresses, his frustrations.  The negatives are that he is a narcissist, he is very stressed out, and he is still injured and in pain.

I have no idea when I will see him.  I suppose it’s good that we’re trying to work a mid-week date in, but it’s still frustrating that it’s so hard.  It’s not just his fault.  I have plans for tomorrow that do not have anything to do with him, so I need to get confirmation as early as possible.

I can’t wait to see him.  Our last date was “eh” for me, so I look forward to seeing him to make sure that was a fluke.  Every day, I feel closer to him.  I suppose I like the fact that he acts boyfriend-y towards me — we have general future plans to see my friends again, we have expectations that when we’re available we will see each other.

