I have gotten into the habit of speaking with BFD at night, after our workdays end.  For the past 8 days or so, we have called each other sometime between 9 and 10.

Today, I have had a particularly bad day — terrible allergic reaction, very stressed, kind of fighting with BP who is being awful.  Plus, I got under 2 hours of sleep last night so I am exhausted and cranky.

I called BFD around 8:30 because I had wrapped a conference call to the West Coast, and I wanted to hear his voice.  Strangely, he did not answer.  I left no message.  Instead I texted him to just say “hi, hope you’ve had a great day.”

Fifteen minutes later, I received a text saying he was in Dallas and just wrapping up dinner.

Um, what?

I texted him back later to say, well, I guess that explains why you didn’t answer the phone at your house.

I am actually a bit surprised, as I had no idea he was traveling this week. (Now that I think about it, this must have been what happened when his partner called during last night’s call.)  At a minimum, this means our midweek date is not happening.  I have not yet spoken to him, since he’s working, but the earliest he would be back is tomorrow evening.  I have socialite duty on Thursday, again, but this is a dinner so I cannot have him join me.  Now I am missing him in anticipation of missing him.

I have been thinking about him today.  We have become closer over the past two weeks.  The regular communication has been great.  We are getting to know each other better and it’s really terrific.

The next few weeks will be challenging with one or both of us traveling fairly regularly.  Our  communication routine will be so important.  Since the rough early weeks, he has become so responsive.  I cannot remember how long it’s been since I had to wait more than 15 minutes to hear from him.  Though it is mildly disappointing to not hear his voice today, I am pleased that I again responded quickly.  It makes a difference.

