I was talking to W on the phone and watching the Boston-Chicago game, when BFD called. It was like 8:25 and I had just finished cooking dinner (one-half of a habanero sausage from whole foods), so I ate and chatted with BFD for 40 minutes.

For the most part, we spoke about business, his (married) assistant’s emergency surgery, and my personal finances: “Plan, why don’t you just get a job?” That conversation. He wanted to know why I am not stressed out about being broke (he has no idea how broke I am, but he has not cashed the check my bank sent him two weeks ago), so I admitted, somewhat emotionally, “I so stressed about money all the time and I am terrified.” That actually made him feel better. I think he was worried that I just don’t care at all about not having money, which would be an issue for him if he thought I did not care about money because I assumed he would support me. Anyway, we made progress.

The whole conversation was great and helpful and we talked about our new topic of conversation, too, which is always fun. Toward the end, I mentioned that the game was going to overtime. He decided he should go downstairs and start watching it, so I was getting ready to hang up and then he said, “why don’t you come over and fuck me?”

I said, okay, I will be right there. As I brushed my teeth, he called back and I just knew he was going to cancel, but instead he asked me to bring something with me.

I nearly got into 3 car accidents on my way to his place. I had to slam on my brakes three separate times to avoid hitting cars stopped in front of me. I was paying so little attention to the road, all I could think about was getting there.

After 10 minutes, I walked in and most of the lights were off, though we flipped most of them on before we got busy. I took my shoes off and called up to the second floor. He was downstairs so fast, in a towel, since he’d just gotten out of the shower. His first question, as his kissed me was “do you want to watch the game or . . .” I said um, the game? So he sat me on the sofa, turned down the volume and knelt in front of me, which is never his opening move . . . and a very rare move, for that matter.

He turned the tv off within the first minute or so, while he continued to do amazing work. Where Date 26 was all about me focused on him and trying new things to please him, this was all about him focused on me and trying new things to please me.

And he did.

The sex was wow-worthy. It was so good, I cannot stop grinning. It also sent me to Walgreens to spend money I don’t have on cranberry supplements since someone gets a little careless. (Yikes, I may not have caught it in time.)

I am struggling to write while I can see in my mind is us together so clearly. It was amazing. He was amazing. It just works.

We were both very, very happy.

After, we hugged and kissed more than usual. The whole thing was just wow.

I ran upstairs to use the bathroom and grab a towel, while he quickly rinsed off downstairs and grabbed his towel. He started telling me about the game while I was still up, and we actually caught the end of the 3rd overtime, though wrapped in our huge towels, we weren’t paying that much attention.

We stretched out on the sofa, and he got up to get us bottles of water, so thoughtful, and an ice pack for his knees. He said, when I asked what was wrong “just wait until you are [his age].” I will be comparatively decrepit in 4 years, but then, I am not as sensitive to physical ailment. I asked him specifically if he did the move in his class that injured his knee the last time and he told me he had not.

We started to discuss calendar and he asked what we were doing this weekend. I said, well, Wolverine is opening and I’d like to see that. He said, okay, we’ll do that Saturday. What are we doing tomorrow?

Huh?

Now, the cute thing about him is that I would bet there is no way I am seeing him tomorrow (he has a late workout), but he wants to see me. He wants to spend the weekend with me doing stuff. He knows that we’re together and just assumes that every night we’ll be together. I have no idea why he assumes this, but he does. This whole seeing/planning to see each other daily is still so new for me, but he just assumes we will be together. When we had a Friday date a couple of weeks ago and I told him I had plans for Saturday, he was put out. Not angry, but put out.

So this is a wonderful, thrilling feeling. Now that he is physically better, we’re together. This has been going on all month — this constancy, this presumption that we’re together. I cannot make plans without him because we’re together. It’s so weird, this having to include someone else when I am making plans.

It’s so weird to have someone who is involved in everything in my life. He wants to know what I am thinking, what I am working on. Yeah, I know, like he’s my boyfriend, but it’s bigger than that. It’s not about where we are now, it’s about where we are going.

As he was flipping channels he saw something about “risqué fun in the Caribbean,” so he asked me a very personal question about whether I had ever done something in particular. I answered him honestly . . . yes, I had. He had not, but he was intrigued so I told him about it.

I worry a little that he thinks I am a freer spirit than I actually am and that it’s a bad thing. We are playing for keeps after all. The stuff I tell him, I would never tell anyone else, but he loved the idea that I had this experience when I was in my mid 20s. It is clearly something he might like to try, but there is no way. Ever. (Well, it’s highly unlikely, but I can imagine a way it might.) And, no, it’s probably not what you’re thinking. Or that either.

We stated watching something on Animal Planet about the oceans or something and I told him a bit about my family and childhood. This is probably not outable, but my grandfather, like BFD, did not have to work. Like BFD, he did, but he moved to Florida when he was 50 to pursue his deep-sea fishing passions. (Unlike BFD, my grandfather never had to work, though he did, although I do not know that he ever made any money.)

BFD got up to do his dinner dishes and eat snacks — smartfood, cereal, etc. It’s funny, I have never seen him in complete wind-down mode and I was amazed that he wandered around his kitchen eating.

I walked up behind him at one point and put my hands on his hips and kissed him on the neck. I noticed he is slightly pudgier than when he was in full competition mode. I would say he is over 5 pounds up. Maybe closer to 10. He still looks great, and those arms and those legs, damn sexy, but his midsection is a little heftier. And yes, these are among the things I think about as I watch my boyfriend wander around his kitchen eating, while wearing only an enormous bath sheet.

(Adorably, he did not offer me anything. Though I eat when we are together, even cookies and dessert, he knows how carefully I eat.)

I walked back around to the living room side of the countertop and we talked more about the new thing, which is essentially our pitching business deals to each other and trying to figure out the angles. It’s really fun and it’s almost like unraveling a mystery. Yes, business people spend free time figuring out how certain enterprises work. Yes, we’re absurd.

I was surprised by how long we hung out after the sex. We watched a lot of tv and talked for a really long time. It was a truly fabulous date, and not just for the mind-blowing sex. It’s funny, as great as the sex was, and it was amazing (and filled with tricks), that’s not why I am so happy with this date. I am so happy with it because we’re completely connected. We had long, interesting conversations for a couple of hours and things feel great.

It was, he said, our “first booty call.” Essentially, this was the only time we’ve not had dinner together, but this was an excellent way for us to spend a mid-week evening. We each had dinner, worked, etc., and then spent our wind-down time together talking, watching sports, and having sex. He sent me off after 11 so he could get a little more work done.

Who knows if I will see him on Friday. With his local assistant’s emergency surgery, he is slammed with work, but we are together and closer than ever.

