Friday night was my birthday celebration. Still exhausted from Thursday’s fun, and incapable of bringing a date, I was unmotivated. It turned out to be a wonderful evening and more fun than any of us anticipated.

My de facto date turned out to be HN, my hot neighbor, who joined us when he saw my check-in. We are friends, and I end up spending more time with him than with the rest of my friends because we work out together, in addition to living next door to each other.

We ate great food, I drank ridiculous cocktails and then ended the evening at my favorite bar, conviently located across the busy street from the nightclub where we’d had our party. The bar was hopping as it hosted a bday party for a touring musician, so the energy of the room was off the chart. Because I am a regular and friendly with the primary investor, I was warmly greeted by all the staff and the eight of us remaining were treated very well.

HN left around midnight, having secured entertainment, and we discussed that he would not be making it to class early the next morning.

My girlfriend FW and I ended up having an intense, emotional conversation about the end of her marriage, but it was really about coping with breakups and learning and growing and reconnecting with our own power.

I got upstairs after 2 am, wondering if there is any way I could make it to class, as I’d promised BFD on thursday. I checked and there was no way for me to get there… 35 minutes before class, I texted BFD to let him know.

